Posted by: Dahni | April 22, 2008

The Sanity of Balance

© 4/2208

 By Dahni

    Throughout my life I have always sought balance. And if life were a pendulum, I should be able to recognize the center, having been to the left and to the right of it so many times.  🙂

     My lack of experience and wisdom, my immaturity, and ignorance has usually led me to places I have not wanted to go. It was also, not uncommon to have found myself in such places, having been advised, counseled, suggested of and led there by others. 

   As a society of people, I believe the two greatest concerns we have, lie in the authority of rule over our individual spirits and the inability to debate a matter without argument to the point of hostility. No one wants to be wrong for sure, but volume and force may silence another’s voice, but it can never win over a heart. 

 

 

 

“Those convinced against their will are of the same opinion still.”

–Dale Carnegie 

   When it comes to matters of great importance, I have found the truth always to be found somewhere in the middle of the several, separate and opposing views. When we hold to the one over the others, there can be no public debate. Where there is no debate, freedom hangs in the balance. 

The earth is flat

–Majority centuries past 

The earth is round

–Un-silent Minority Magellan 

The earth is spherical

–Satellite Image 

The sun rises in the east and sets in the west

–Observation of one 

   In the United States, the three most revered, feared, smeared and unclear issues are (in no particular order): 

  1. When life begins (Pro-life, Pro-Choice)
  2. Separation of Church and State – The Theory of Evolution (atheism, agnostics), Creationism, Intelligent Design
  3. Global Warming or Cyclic Weather Changes 

    That which is clear is the men and women of science, government agencies, and the media that purport the prevailing beliefs to be the truth or a matter of fact or a consensus. What is not clear is whether there any alternatives to these accepted beliefs or is there any validity to them? Without debate, how could we know? Without testing and without negative feedback, how could we be sure? 

   Throughout history, to defeat an enemy or even an idea has always followed three rules: by numbers, by attack, by silence. When one is not sufficient, combinations of more than one or all three has been and presently are used. In a nation whose foundations are based on individual freedom, how can there be freedom without public debate. When alternatives are impeded by numbers, attacked or given the ‘silent treatment,’ science of the majority has become the god and the religion of the state. 

“In questions of science, the authority of a thousand

 is not worth the humble reasoning of a single individual.” 

–Galileo Galilei 

   Another point which has served me well in ferreting out a matter is to, “follow the money.” 

   In my perhaps small mind, I have concluded that the beliefs of the majority do not necessarily make them true. The beliefs of the minority do not necessarily make them false.

Origin of Life 

   I have seen both life and death, but to explain the origin of life, I would have to be logically, greater than life itself. 

Separation of God and State 

   I have seen and researched many religions and the behavior of those involved, but to base my beliefs upon fallible humanity would be both foolish and prevent me from ever wanting to know if God exists. 

Global Warming 

   I have taken an umbrella and carried it around on a sunny day. I have not taken my umbrella and it has rained all day. I did these actions as I was told by the weatherman of what to expect. I have concluded that to understand climatic changes, I would need to be greater than the dynamic planet that is ever changing, where upon I dwell. 

   Throughout my life I have always sought balance. And if life were a pendulum, I should be able to recognize the center, having been to the left and to the right of it so many times.   🙂

   When it comes to matters of great importance, I have found the truth always to be found somewhere, in the middle of the several, separate and opposing views.

Just Imagine,

Dahni


Leave a Reply

Categories

