Posted by: Dahni | May 29, 2008

Jonathan Winters

© 05/29/08

By Dahni

Images: www.jonathanwinters.com

    One of my all-time favorite comedians is the genius, Jonathan Winters. Maybe there is no one greater at characters, facial expressions and accents ‘on the fly,’ than Jonathan Winters. Even Robin Williams favors and is said to have been influenced by, Jonathan Winters.

   Perhaps beginning with Milton Berle back in the ‘40’s and ‘50’s, many male comics and actors have dressed up in women’s clothing as a part of their act. Personally, this has always been and remains distasteful to me. There are three exceptions. The last was Robin Williams as ‘Mrs. Doubtfire’ in 1993, which was preceded by Flip Wilson’s ‘Geraldine,’ in the ‘70’s. Perhaps Winter’s was the first  and the best of these 3, with his portrayal in the ‘60’s as ‘Maude Frickert.’ Even though William’s character was British, it could be argued that ‘Mrs.Doubtfire’ was patterned after Winter’s ‘Maude Frickert.’

   Often Jonathan Winters appeared on many television shows. As a guest on both The Tonight Show and The Dean Martin Show, neither Johnny Carson nor Dean Martin ever knew what Winters would do!

   For those familiar with the comedic genius and masterful improvisation skills of Jonathan Winters, many (including myself), may not know he is both an accomplished writer and an artist. His career path was actually begun as an artist.  My favorite piece of his work is beautiful. Even the title is funny to me and reflective of the mind of, Jonathan Winters.

‘Trolling in Outer Space,’ By Jonathan Winters

   Now around 80 years of age, this brilliant artist, comedian, writer, Emmy award winning, television and movie actor continues to bless the world. He lives in California where he paints, writes, performs and is believed to be working on his autobiography.

   May we live to grace others as Jonathan Winters has and continues to do.

 see also: https://dahni.wordpress.com/2013/04/15/jonathan-winters-iii/

Just Imagine,

Dahni


Responses

  1. I just stumbled upon your post. I am very fortunate to have the original “Trolling in Outer Space.” People do enjoy just knowing that it’s an original and that it’s a piece from Jonathan Winters.. thanks for the post!!! David

  2. I am really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog.

    Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Anyway
    keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this one nowadays.

  3. Thank you Latonya. Glad you like my blog. No it is not a paid theme, but I did customize it myself.

    Sincerely,

    Dahni

  4. Dahni…it’s David. My wife bought “Trolling in Outer Space” for me. I just love Jonathan Winters. Have for years.
    I do have “Trolling in Outer Space” and it’s hanging on my wall in CA.. not interested in selling it. I’m just glad I have it.. David


Leave a Reply

Categories

