Posted by: Dahni | March 30, 2015

Drawing

short url to this post: http://wp.me/pc3uC-124

By Dahni

© 2015, all rights reserved

Your warm bright sunshine beckons me to thee

and draws me to thy living valley

and dew drippled’ fragrant flowers of thy life

and to touch the velvet delicate petals of thy compassion

and to listen to and hear the music of thine heart

and to taste the sweet nectar of thy wholeness

and immerse myself –

in the waters of thy love

from the collection: WONDER © 2001-2015 by the same author
Where the Sun Comes to Draw Water

Where the Sun Comes to Draw Water

Notes: This short and simple poem could be about life, nature, God, my loving wife Susan, yourself, someone else or something else. Let it suffice to say, it is natural for us to project ourselves into something we can relate to, when there is nothing specific to tell us that it is about someone else or something else. So what you see in this is, what you see in it. It lies in the eye of the beholder. What you behold is, what you behold.

It is said that “a picture is worth a thousand words” (I’ll have a future post on this). That statement might seem as if to say, the picture is worth more; says more than any and all the words ever could. But I believe both are, equally important and it all depends on one’s moment and place in time and one’s perspective. I have not counted the words here in this post and I may not. I do not know if I have used a 1,000 words to explain my poem and photograph or not. But why not, just allow my fewer worded poem and the photograph, to  just stand on their own, without any further explanation? Not by anyone and especially not by me that penned the words and took the photograph?

The simplest definition of poetry means, “to do or to make.” It has an expanded meaning of, “beauty of speech.” Speech has no inherent beauty. It is neither comely or uncomely. The expression itself, “beauty of speech,” is, a figure of speech. Figures are just tools used, “to do or to make.” My poem and all the words of this post (that are mine), are mine and what I have done is, what I have made. And the simplest definition for photography is, “light writing” or writing with light. My poem, my photograph and my every word here are all connected. They all make connections. The are all made be me. They are all drawn by me. I share them with the hope that they may draw you in. Pictures are words and words are pictures. When we choose to allow life to draw us in, we find ourselves, in-Life.

Now, with these things being written, I can no more tell you what I saw and that you will see the same, anymore than I can show you what I saw and expect you, to see the same. There lie the limits of all that we can, “do or make,” and our often inability to write with light and show what is, “beauty of speech.” All I can ever do is, the best that I can ever do.

Several years ago, we were leaving Boston, MA, when we came down a hill and into the sight of, one of the most incredible displays of sun and color and clouds that I had ever seen before. So amazed and intrigued, I had to pull off to the side of the road and get out of our car. I breathed in and took my time to really look and internally record how it made me feel. At last, I took this photograph and we continued on our way home. I could not get this picture out of my mind and did research to discover what this phenomenon might be.  My research led me to its two common names, one more poetic and one more technical. It’s poetic name is, “where the sun draws water,” or as I have titled the photograph, “Where the sun comes to draw its water.” So deeply have I been touched with clouds my whole life and from this sight and picture and record in my mind, I wrote an entire collection of poetry, about clouds. I named it, ‘Where Clouds Come to Cry.’ It’s final poem shares the same name as this photograph, “Where the Sun Comes to Draw its Water.”

This first name was, first found to be, ‘Sun drawing water.’ It is from the ancient Greek belief that sunbeams drew water into the sky. This would have been or could have been, an early description of evaporation.

There are others names associated with this phenomenon such as:

The Rays of God  – The Fingers of God

I have often called these just simply, ‘Miracle Clouds.” Perhaps this was from my imagination or some Christian inklings, but I used to think that some miracle was happening somewhere to someone(s), wherever the rays of sun fell and touched the earth. It is a nice way of looking at them, at least to me.

In technical terms, these beams of light are called:

“Crepuscular rays [kri-puhs-kyuh-ler] (cray-pus- q-ler) In atmospheric optics, they are rays of sunlight that appear to radiate from the point in the sky where the sun is located. These rays, which stream through gaps in clouds (particularly stratocumulus) or between other objects, are columns of sunlit air separated by darker cloud-shadowed regions. Despite seeming to converge at a point, the rays are in fact near-parallel shafts of sunlight, and their apparent convergence is a perspective effect (similar, for example, to the way that parallel railway lines seem to converge at a point in the distance).”

“The name comes from their frequent occurrences during twilight hours (those around dawn and dusk), when the contrasts between light and dark are the most obvious. Crepuscular comes from the Latin word “crepusculum”, meaning twilight.”

 excerpt from: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crepuscular_rays

In the end, we are all drawn to someone or something, at certain times in our lives. To describe these things in word deed or by some picture is, what draws us to make and do; write with light and make our speech (our words and pictures) of our drawing, beautiful! This is done by what we imagine from our imagination.

Just I-Magine,

dahnisigblu


Leave a Reply

Categories

